Foundry tells the company’s story

    Bofors is still located on the traditional grounds where the foundry was originally built during the 1600s. The buildings relate the company’s history from widely diverse epochs. One of the buildings most surrounded with myth is the works hotel from 1930 in the Mediterranean style, which is now open to the public.

    The foundries in Bofors and Björkborn are cultural environments of national interest. The structures illustrate how the original, rather unassuming foundry evolved into an international company – now a part of the global Saab.

     

    The oldest relics from the early days are the waterwheels, which have been at the same location since burgher Paul Hossman from Arboga was granted permission in 1646 to construct two forging hammers at the estate in Boo. The hammer forge along with the waterwheels were positioned in the rapids on the river Timsälven and this became the beginning of the company Bofors. The waterwheels have been documented on several maps over the centuries, of which the oldest is from 1697.

     

    The hammer forge was razed in 1918, but its stone foundation remains between the waterwheels. Mill stones have also been preserved from the old mill. The waterwheels, although they are not as originally constructed in the 1600s, are the only traces of Bofors’ origins. They stand as a symbol for the ambition and entrepreneurship that existed in the district.

     

    Further to the west is Brukstorget with several interesting buildings, including the office and works hotel. Both were erected at the beginning of the 1930s in an austere elegance. The Doric columns in grey granite adorn the entrance to the office, which is reminiscent of the main building of the Uppsala University Library, Carolina Rediviva, and Stockholm’s concert house at Hötorget.